Daily Post: Writer’s Block Party

Writer’s Block Party

When was the last time you experienced writer’s block? What do you think brought it about — and how did you dig your way out of it?

 

Writer’s Block. Every writer hates this. We despise it. It’s torture.

The last time this devil came around my place, I was starting Daily Post’s writing challenge. I couldn’t get anything down. The computer screen was blank. The notebook was empty. It was driving me nuts. I never had it so bad before and, to be honest, I rarely got writer’s block. 

This was the first time in years that I came across this devil. It took over a month to get rid of it too. I look back and blame the busy schedule i had for the half year before. I never had time to write during those six months, and I guess that’s what opened the door for this fellow to come attack my writing life. 

This attack wasn’t normal (not for me at least). It lasted too long to be called ‘normal’. Okay, so after a few weeks I was getting tired of this monster sitting around my place. The plan was to borrow a gun from one of my friends, bring armed forces from the military in and surround it with no where to go. Then I would force it out of the house, remembering to never come back again. That was the plan…but, of course, you can’t actually do that.

In reality, I asked around for some help and decided to just sit it out. I was stressing over it too much. It was summer and I relaxed a little. I never wrote or thought of writing, if I could help it, for the next month or two. Then, when I sat back down at my computer the devil was gone. I was writer’s block free and proud of it. 

About MysteriesOfLife

"The 'Earth' without 'art' is just 'eh'."
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

