May 7: Forgive and Forget

It’s always nice to be able to forgive someone. The burden that is hatred can take a very big toll on a person. When you forgive someone, you are also letting yourself move on and let go. You can then go on with your life, not forgetting the lesson the experience taught you personally.

But sometimes it’s extremely hard to forgive someone when they’ve done something you absolutely cannot forget. No matter how hard you try to put it aside, it always gets you. If you can’t seem to let go of the action, maybe you have to let go of the person as well.

For me, I just went through this time where my friend did something unintentionally and it hit me with unmeasurable amounts of pain.  Every single time I thought about it, it would kill me a little bit inside. I would start questioning this and that, and would not be able to rest a bit. I was trying to forgive and forget. But with it being something unforgettable, it was nearly impossible to forgive as well.

It had been very hard for me to let this go. I still haven’t, if I’m being completely honest. This has happened really recently too. But I’ve found out that, even though I was very much against the two of us separating our lives, it has been a lot easier on me to move on and focus on other things. Before I couldn’t really do anything, but now I’m getting my work done and ‘living life’ so to say.

Yes, I do miss this friend. I do wish that had not happened, but what is past is unchangeable. I will hope that we will continue a friendship later on in our lives, if not anytime soon. I wish them the best. I hope they are well. All that good stuff. I’m still hung over what happened, but I’m not letting that stop me from being a good friend.

Maybe one day, I will come to a point where I can completely forgive this person. I know I won’t be able to forget this painful event, but at least I will be able to move on and let go.

<a href=”https://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/forgive-and-forget/”>Forgive and Forget?</a>

About MysteriesOfLife

"The 'Earth' without 'art' is just 'eh'."
This entry was posted in Daily Prompts, I Don't Give Up Easily. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

