Silence Within Us

Sometimes I need my space. My friend never got that. I liked to be alone. I had to be alone after a while of time around people. Just me and my thoughts, four walls and some music, my laptop or my camera or my phone, would be fine. After some time, I have a moment where I just go “Everyone needs to back up and give me some space”. It doesn’t matter what the situation is. I don’t have to be frustrated with anything or anyone. I just sometimes need my time alone, and my space to be by myself.

My alone time is a time for me to calm my mind, for me to focus and think about what’s going on. Sometimes it’s a time for me to just blank out and stare at the ceiling for a good hour. But I get to have that time to relax and “escape from the world around me”.

I need my time alone. Or else I start getting claustrophobic around people. I start isolating myself. I start shutting off towards people. I start…putting up walls, pushing people back, etc. Somehow, I always get my alone time.

I know I’m not the only person like this. So why does this always come off as “being insane” or “being abnormal” or something of that sort. There are other people like me. You see them all around you. But somehow when I actually say it out loud, it becomes this huge, horrible thing.

There are people out there who don’t know how to live with themselves, and that’s just…insane. They have to constantly have someone there with them. They don’t know what it is to just sit in silence. They don’t understand or know how to deal with just being with their own thoughts.

I actually like sitting with my thoughts. I like being alone at times. What’s wrong with that? Just because you don’t understand or you don’t know, doesn’t mean there is something wrong with us.

About MysteriesOfLife

“I’m a simple girl.” “You lied. You aren’t simple at all.” “Maybe I’m not. But if I said that, would you have stayed around to figure me out?”
This entry was posted in Friendships, Personal Favorites, Stream Consciousness. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

