When I Can, While I Can

Two years went by with a blink of an eye. I didn’t know where all the time went, but I knew where I wanted to spend more of it. Everywhere.

By the end of the first week together, my “trainer” took me to LA. We spent no more than a few months there before moving onto Arizona, Washington and then Virginia. When the first year had come to an end, I realized we had moved more than ten times going to new places and sometimes coming back to one or two.

We had met a lot of people on the way. Some of his friends were on the road as well, not really knowing where to settle down and move in. They were intrigued by the newcomer by his side.

“I know you aren’t a quiet one. Why don’t you ever talk to my friends?” He asked me as we were driving back to New York.

“I like to listen and watch. I don’t talk as much if I don’t need to.” I shrugged the question off and glanced to the window, knowing his eyes were roaming on me.

He sighed, trying to remain focused on the road, “We’ll be there in a couple hours. You might as well get some sleep. It’s going to be a long night.”

I obeyed and soon fell asleep within the next half hour. We did a lot of moving, Derek and I. We both had gotten used to sleeping in the car, staying at gas stations and being stranded in the middle of nowhere at night.

When I woke up, we had stopped on the side of the road. No city was in sight in either direction. It was pitch dark, besides the moonlight above.

I looked over at Derek and found him fast asleep in the back seat. Opening the moonroof, I realized how bright the moon actually was as it sat right above our car.

When I was about to close it again, Derek’s voice came out over the darkness. “Leave it.”

“I thought you were asleep.”

“How can I be asleep when you were? I can’t just have no one on guard at night, you know that.” He said tiredly.

I sighed, “You know I can take care of myself now. It’s been two years.”

“I know…I’d just rather protect you when I can, while I can.” He closed his eyes and drifted to sleep.

About MysteriesOfLife

"The 'Earth' without 'art' is just 'eh'."
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

