June 26: Take It From Me

I give out advice, but sometimes it’s more of a “Do what I say, and not what I do” situation instead of me setting the good example.

One of the things I’ve recently found myself saying is: Make sure you realize when you deserve better. And when you do, respect yourself enough to walk away and find something better.

This goes back, in a sense, to my past post: https://mysteriesoflifeyouandme.wordpress.com/2015/06/14/know-when-you-deserve-better/
I knew, in the back of my mind, that I deserved better from my friends. But friendships are a weak point for me, I can’t imagine letting something like that go because of the memories and everything we’ve gone through “together”. I felt horrible at times, and there were countless times where I felt as if I was never wanted or accepted, but I couldn’t manage to let myself walk away. In a way, I didn’t want to abandon them…no matter how horrible they treated me.

Friends are the family you meet and choose. They are supposed to treat you well. If not like family, at least like real friends. And I knew my friends weren’t doing that. I just didn’t seem to respect myself enough to walk away and find something better. I didn’t think I’d be “lucky enough” to find friends like that, or meet someone who understood me like they did. But, in reality, I wasn’t really ‘lucky’ to find someone like those people and they never really ‘understood’ me as a person either.
There wasn’t really anything holding me back/stopping me from leaving, but myself. I just had to find that courage and that respect for myself to be able to actually do something about how I was being treated.

Another piece of advice I love to tell people, but never follow myself, would be: Don’t get involved with manipulation. Don’t get involved with someone who has a past with manipulation. Don’t get involved with that “other world” behind manipulation.

Well, it’s a little too late for me to not get involved with ‘that world’. And everyone who has stepped in knows it’s very difficult, close to impossible, to find our way out.
That’s all I’ll say about that.

Take It From Me

About MysteriesOfLife

“I’m a simple girl.” “You lied. You aren’t simple at all.” “Maybe I’m not. But if I said that, would you have stayed around to figure me out?”
This entry was posted in Daily Prompts, I Don't Give Up Easily. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

