One Nasty Night

She walks down the dark empty street. She feels at home. She is finally calm and at peace after several endless weeks of chaos. She walks slowly; there is a little bounce to her steps. A smile forms on her face as beautiful memories replay themselves through her mind.

There is a shadow behind her. It grows from hers as her shape lifts from the ground. A dark aura spills from the edges. There seems to be a mist, a vaporizing smoke that flies around the creature. It stalks her. The atmosphere changes and her body tenses. She feels something is off. A wall had fallen down on her happiness.

The creature mirrors her. For every step she takes, it takes one. The creature…is her.

Suddenly there is a monstrous shriek. It rings through the icy cold air. My heart skips a beat. Her footsteps freeze. In milliseconds her form changes and she is the beast. But in the moment of weakness, in between the change, the shadow attacks and holds a death grip at her throat. I want to jump and somehow save the day but I can’t move nor have a say.

I watch as she gasps for air, helpless to do anything. She struggles as she is lifted from the ground. Her nails dig at her neck, trying to get out of the grip. She fails. She grows limp.

The shadow lets go, calms down, and returns to a more stable form. It looks down at the body it use to follow as a shadow. It looks down at the girl and…I think it felt sorrow.

It calms down, changes form…and now it’s the girl looking down on herself.

It was a battle between two sides of herself.

She looks down, emotionless and dry, then turns to ask me, “Why did I do that to myself?”

About MysteriesOfLife

“I’m a simple girl.” “You lied. You aren’t simple at all.” “Maybe I’m not. But if I said that, would you have stayed around to figure me out?”
This entry was posted in Short Stories and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

