March 21: [When You Find a] Friend

When you moved to be next to me because I needed a friend, when you dragged me off to show me something you knew I’d like, when you teased me and spent time with me to make me smile…

When you held me in your arms, when you listened to my rants, when you told me everything was going to be alright…

When you believed in me when I couldn’t find it in myself to, when you have faith in me because you said you knew me, when you were so confident in me even when all I had were doubts floating in my head…

When you scolded me for something I did wrong, when I crossed the line, when I knew I was not right…

When you bluntly told me what I needed to hear, when you told me the truth, when you didn’t sugar coat the lies…

When you made sure I ate and drank enough, when you checked in on my health, when you were all over the place trying to get me to feel better…

When you gave me a shoulder to rest on, when you lent me a hand to hold, when you were the friend who stood by my side…

When you wiped the tears from my eyes, when you healed up all the bruises and cuts, when you took care of my fragile body parts…

When you were there for me when no one else was, when you pushed aside your own needs to help me out, when you did every thing you could to bring sunlight into my eyes and warmth into my heart…

When you forgave me for my lies, when you took my flaws as beauty, when you tried to understand my situation and where I was standing at, when you taught me what I needed to learn…

When you helped me realize what was hiding between the lines, when you showed me what I did not originally see, when you moved the dust from my eyes and cleaned my lens…

Maybe I hadn’t said it then but…thank you. for everything.

Friend

About MysteriesOfLife

“I’m a simple girl.” “You lied. You aren’t simple at all.” “Maybe I’m not. But if I said that, would you have stayed around to figure me out?”
This entry was posted in A Little Escape, Daily Prompts, I Promised You, Personal Favorites, Stream Consciousness. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

