Hiding, but Still Found

When I think of a “hideout” I think of a place where I can be 100% myself, where I don’t have to worry about other people’s judgements, critical, and hate, but most importantly where no one can reach me.

There are my physical hideouts, and then my mental hideouts.

My physical hideouts include my L-shaped desk – where no one dares to bother me due to my intense work schedule-, next to my best friend – where his company feels like home and I don’t have to worry about anything other than present time -, and behind my camera – where once I get into the zone, I am gone to the world-.

To be honest, my desk is a hideout just as it is my most stressful place in my life. It’s where all my tasks come out of my daily agenda and scream at me to get them done. But my desk is also the place where I can simply focus on myself, my needs, my work, and MY schedule.

I say being with my best friend is a hideout because being with him is basically the happiest place on earth for me. I don’t have to worry about judgement, because he is so understanding (and, let’s face it, he already knows everything about me that’s humiliating and sad). It’s a place where I find it in myself to relax and not stress about all the things that I might need to get done. It’s a wonderful feeling, being with him.

When I’m behind my camera, when I get into the ‘zone’ with editing or a shoot, I am GONEE! There’s something about my passion for photography that takes me to a place where nothing else matters. It’s when I try to see life in such different angels sometimes I surprise myself by what I come across. It’s where I am the most focused and also where I am the most observant. I come more aware of everything surrounding me in the tiniest details, yet I seem to pull myself out of the picture to really grasp what is behind the scenes.

Then, there is my mental hideout.
You may be thinking, a hideout is a physical place. What’s a mental hideout?
But to me, a hideout is simply somewhere no one can reach me and somewhere I can be 100% myself without any fear.

My mental hideout is…not a place I can describe (since it’s not physical) but you know I am there when 1. I zone out 2. I am deep in thought 3. I seem to be contemplating something 4. (sometimes) I’m curled up in some sort of ball (ex: sitting in the corner of my room with my legs pulled close).

When I’m in this state, really no one can reach me. I go into a state of ‘awe’ almost. I start reflecting on my past and my past relationships, asking myself why a certain event happened or what caused a drift in a current relationship and so forth. When I’m like that, I completely zone out. I don’t hear the physical world. I don’t see the physical world (almost). I don’t seem to be in the physical world (in my mind). There’s nothing there except my thoughts and myself.

You might be thinking, that doesn’t sound healthy. I am not going to determine whether it is healthy or not, but I am going to say that it works for ME. It’s where I pick myself up the most during my dark days, it’s when I see situations more clearly than I ever have, it’s how I…get along with myself/learn about myself. Yes, if you let your thoughts spiral into darkness during this time (where no one can reach you), yes, it would be dangerous. But that is why, it is also the time to learn the most about yourself, reflect on your habits, and change what you might not like about your current lifestyle.

When I hide, I tend to hide purposefully by trying to see my own life, and the lives of those around me, in a different perspective in order to gain new knowledge.

Hideout

About MysteriesOfLife

“I’m a simple girl.” “You lied. You aren’t simple at all.” “Maybe I’m not. But if I said that, would you have stayed around to figure me out?”
This entry was posted in A Little Escape, About Me, Daily Prompts, Personal Favorites and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Hiding, but Still Found

  1. aratrika23 says:

    “But that is why, it is also the time to learn the most about yourself, reflect on your habits, and change what you might not like about your current lifestyle.” How totally true. Except I never know when to start. And by the time I realize, it will be a tad bit late and I would have gone into a depressing spiral only.

    • MysteriesOfLife says:

      Start as soon as you realize when you’re thoughts are heading to a darker place. The more you practice and get use to realizing when your thoughts get dark, the quicker it is to stop it and turn them back around.

      I hope this helps (: Feel free to email me at luckyestgirlever@gmail.com
      I’d love to hear your story. Best wishes

      • aratrika23 says:

        My thoughts easily go from pleasant pondering to dark images within seconds. Makes me regret doing it in the first place. Still need a lot of practice I suppose

      • MysteriesOfLife says:

        Mine do too. There are days, or even weeks, that a dark cloud constantly hovers in my mind despite how much I try to push it away. So I try to figure out why it’s there in the first place. If I cannot do this while it’s there (which usually makes it go away easier), then I try to go back and figure it out once it had naturally vanished from my mind. Sometimes this can take weeks.

      • aratrika23 says:

        I wish I could do it as well. I really do. But when it’s only dark clouds that u keep seeing for a while, u lose hope that any of them will ever have a lining at all much less a silver lining. And u start accepting that this part of ur life will have only those clouds. And nothing more.
        Some day… I might be able to see some light.

  2. a piece straight from the mental hideout….

Leave a Reply

